Getting out and about

Every day I’ve forced myself to get out of the flat at least once – usually twice. In the mornings I walk with Heath to his workplace, about a ten minute walk, and go exploring on the way back. Within easy walking distance from our apartment, there are at least three each of small grocery stores and bakeries.

There are far less choices in most of the shops for the things I’m used to buying, such as spices, cereal, and other dry goods. However, the yogurt, cheese, and meat sections are mind-boggling. Plus, the fresh bakeries are wonderful. I buy a small loaf of fresh bread every other day or so, usually one called a Halbweisse.  And of course, I’ve indulged in some chocolate every now and again, my favorite so far being a sort of chocolate-covered wafer called Kägi-Fretli.

Leave a Reply

