Homesickness

I admit that I’ve had some trouble adjusting. By the state of this travelogue, I’ve obviously been trying to keep any mournful thoughts at bay by keeping as busy as possible. Yes, I’ve of course had bouts of loneliness, homesickness… but what has surprised me most as the strange moments that a wave of it will appear.

For instance, tonight we had one of Heath’s lovely coworkers who arranged everything in our flat for us (even groceries) over for dinner. We somehow landed on the topic of losing precious things while travelling. I recounted my loss of a very special scarf on my previous trip to Switzerland. The scarf had been made for me by my maid of honor, and had significance not only for that but because of memories of a road trip we’d taken shortly after she completed a matching hat and scarf set for the both of us.

Back to this evening – in the middle of telling my story, I started to choke up a bit – not by the memory of the loss of the scarf, but because I miss my friend. It was completely unexpected, and I caught myself before actually leaking a tear.

(My maid of honor has since made me a replacement scarf, fyi – I will be quite toasty this winter).

Leave a Reply

