Another milestone

I’m not sure if I mentioned it here yet, but our family will be excited to hear that Edward is rolling over with ease from his back to his stomach. He’s still trying to get the hang of rolling from his stomach to his back, though, and keeps getting his legs caught around his floor gym toy.

Today we have another milestone – a tooth is appearing! Eddie has been drooling and pulling on his jaw for a few weeks now (early signs of teething). And now that I think about it, he’s been a bit more fussy than usua lately. Yesterday, he was positively unbearable, and I was in Zurich with two visiting friends (more about that later). Today we were in Baden, and during lunch, he seemed to be slighly calmer while being held, so he was passed from lap to lap while we ate. Our friend Matthjis was undaunted by baby slobber and was allowing the child to gum on his finger.

Matthjis suddenly said “hey! he’s getting a tooth!” I felt like a horrible mommy for not noticing – all the signs were there! So I left my friends with the baby at the cafe we were eating at, ran to the apothecary around the corner, and got him some all-natural teething gel and the equivalent of children’s Tylenol. With some help from my friend Marjolien, we administered the medicine, and within about five minutes, he was back to being my non-fussy baby! I had to reapply the the gel a few times, but it was a much nicer day for all of us.

Videos of Zurich and pictures of Baden and a travelogue will be forthcoming this weekend. We’re going to Schaffhausen tomorrow. Our friends leave Friday for Geneva, and we’re not going anywhere this weekend, so I’ll have plenty of time to update.

Leave a Reply

