All shapes and sizes…

One of the more amusing purchases that we’ve made is for basic condiments. A lot of condiments come in tubes exactly like those used for toothpaste. Here we have tomato paste, mayonnaise, and two kinds of mustard:

I think the tomato paste is actually a good idea, though because there have been times when cooking where I thought I could use just a few tablespoons rather than a whole can. You can buy some mustards in jars, but most come in tubes like these, and I’m not sure I’ve even seen mayonaisse in a jar.

3 thoughts on “All shapes and sizes…

  1. We get those tubes in the Netherlands as well, although most things are available in jars as well. But the tubes are more practical I think.

    Like

  2. yeah, I like tubes too because I store them in that part of the fridge door where you are supposed to keep butter and they take up way less space than jars. plus – no having to scrape out the bottom of the jar! though, I have seen some mayo in jars I’m pretty sure… hmm…

    when you go back to the USA – Italian stores and gourmet food stores usually sell Italian tomato paste in tubes! You are right that it just makes sense!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

