Blueberries! (and Eggs, and Flowers, too)

As usual, life has kept me busy, and my energy and brain cells are sapped trying to outsmart a toddler. Oh well!

Recently, I had two opportunities to go blueberry picking with my closest friends here in Switzerland (both of whom are also mommies).

I haven’t gone berry picking since I was a kid living on the east coast of the US, so this was a real treat. Both times we went, we were threatened with rain, but had a lot of fun anyway. The kids explored and ate blueberries right off the bush, and met a very friendly Bernese Mountain dog (very popular Swiss dog, and originally bred here by monks in the mountains).

The blueberries were huge and delicious, and just falling off the branches. Edward ate whatever he could reach, whether they were ripe or not. Back at our flat, my husband and son were pigs over the blueberries (hence the second trip), but I managed to stow away several parcels of blueberries in the future. We’ve had blueberry pancakes, blueberry muffins (Nigella Lawson’s recipe is excellent, btw), and I’ve got another bag left that I’m going to use on a recipe for blueberry sweet buns (like cinnamon buns, only filled with blueberries instead of raisins).

After berry picking one of the days, my friend Stacy took me by a local farm that sold their eggs at the side of a small village road. There was a small unmanned refrigerator stand containing brown and white eggs separated by size, and another case full of all shapes and veggie flavors of egg noodles.

You could even see the chicken coop right above us, and the chickens were clucking us with great suspicion. I bought some cute heart-shaped noodles, regular egg noodles, and some beet/spinach/carrot/plain spirals. All were quite tasty!

We also stopped by a typical flower field in the area. I think this is an excellent idea: take an empty plot near the side of the road, plant rows and rows of different flowers, set up an honor box, and attach a few scissors or shears. At this time of year, this plot had lilies and gladiolas (I got a bunch of the latter), and they ranged in price from 50 Rappen (cents), to 1 franc.

You can find a few more pictures of our blueberry adventures here.

A huge thank-you to Stacy who is always carting Eddie and I around to places that can’t be easily reached by public transportation!

3 thoughts on “Blueberries! (and Eggs, and Flowers, too)

  1. Oooh yum! I would love to pick blueberries! That looks delish!

    Thanks for leaving the comment on my blog. I am keen to finish the planning for our trip now! THanks again!

    Like

  2. Oh that sounds lovely! We used to have a lot of berries in my parents’ yard. And I love Berner Sennen dogs, my aunt and uncle used to have one and it was a total sweetie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

